Meet the 2019 Distinguished Service Award Winners

Bill Shaw
Administrative Exempt Distinguished Service Award

Serving as business officer for a single college at Eastern is a big job on its own, but Bill Shaw has the extraordinary ability to do it for multiple colleges at the same time.

Shaw currently serves as the business officer for the College of Social Sciences. Prior to moving to social sciences, Shaw was instrumental in helping the university navigate a particularly busy time for several colleges. While serving as the budget officer for the College of Business and Public Administration, he jumped into the same position for the College of Health Science and Public Health. Then, the next year, he again jumped in to help—this time for the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

“He remained urbane, collegial, friendly and competent under pressure,” says Martine Duchatelet, economics professor at EWU and former dean of the College of Business and Public Administration. “He managed to juggle serving two colleges at the same time without either college being short-changed.”

Jonathan Anderson, dean of the College of Social Sciences, adds that Shaw takes on a herculean amount of work. “I cannot imagine many individuals being able to take on the financial roles of two colleges at the same time, and yet, Bill did so voluntarily, humbly and without complaint,” Anderson says.

An employee since 2008, coworkers across campus say Shaw, who holds two degrees from EWU, is an approachable resource and carries a constant willingness to assist others.

“Bill has a great personality that allows him to work well with everyone,” says Tara Moses, the executive director of Academic Business and Operations. “He is extremely knowledgeable about the institution and shares his knowledge frequently.”

“Bill’s work life seems to be one constant interruption; I truly do not know how he manages to get his work done,” says Krista Loney, director of the Eastern Washington Area Health Education Center. “So many people rely on him, and so many people are taken care of because of his commitment to excellence.”

Carla Messal
Classified Staff Distinguished Service Award

When the PUB reopened last fall, the newly renovated space wasn’t the only bright spot waiting for students and staff. Carla Messal was there to not only keep the space shiny and clean, but to also make sure the busy people inside were happy and healthy.

A custodian at Eastern for seven years, Messal transferred to the PUB from Showalter Hall last year because she sought a location that would allow her more contact with students—and more opportunities to help support them. “I consider her part of the student success team without a doubt,” says Mark Baldwin, the Associate Vice President for Academic Planning.

While custodians are sometimes overlooked and underappreciated, Messal’s attitude and spirit keep her going strong every day. Her supervisors and coworkers report that she’s regularly early for work and always willing to help a coworker or share a tip that may make the job easier.

It’s Messal’s thoughtfulness that really strikes a chord with people. “The light and life she brought to the PUB with her is unparalleled,” says Kasey Schmidt, a custodial supervisor at EWU. “She is so much more than just a custodian. She is an ambassador of the EWU spirit. Her thoughtful ways and ever-present smile leave all who encounter her throughout the day a little warmer.”

From fellow staff members to students, they all say Messal goes above and beyond to make sure people feel at home at Eastern.

“Every morning that I see Carla she speaks to me,” says Darnisha Thomas, a business student at Eastern. “She is always cheerful with a smiling face. As a student here, Carla is one of the many who always checks on me to see how I am doing, even though she does not have to.”

Messal’s impact at Eastern does not go unnoticed or unappreciated.

“I began to understand that this woman was one comparable to superwoman,” adds Heidi Bishop, psychology major and student supervisor at the EWU Eagle Store. “Always getting her job done while simultaneously bettering the lives of those around her.”

2019 Service Anniversaries

50 Years
Syed Hasan

40 Years
Colleen Hegney

35 Years
Grace Callahan
Susan Megaard
Kenneth Reidt

30 Years
Michael Campitelli
Carl Combs
David Eagle
Eric Galey
Susan Green
Nita Holbert
David McKay
Patricia Nemetz-Mills
Lavona Reeves
William Stimson
David Sundstrom
Mary Jo Van Bemmel

25 Years
Debbie Bleeker
Lynn Briggs
Shannon Flynn
William Heissenbuttel
Charles Herr
Lorraine Hill
Garrett Kenney
Paul Lindholdt
John Marshall
Thomas Shaffer
Heidi Smith

20 Years
George Barrena
Troy Bester
Melinda Breen
Valerie Burnett
James Butler
Patricia Chantrill
Jacqueline Coomes
Kimberlee Davis
Michael Davis
Bruce DeFrates
John Early
Toni Habegger
Rex Haglund
Jon Hammermeister
Dawn Hawes
James Headley
Todd Hechtman
Roberta Jackson
Jonathan Johnson
Igor Klyukanov
Russell Kolts
Robert Lemelin
David May
Jonathan Middleton
Robert Morris
Elisa Nappa
Gregory Pecchia
Steven Rimmey
Shyla Rodgers
John Shively
Cathy Smith
Diane Somerday
David Terpstra
Mary Voves
Nicole Wright

15 Years
Lisa Bilich
Rebecca Brown
Michael Childress
Thomas Crofoot
Cynthia Dukich
Jason Durfee
Elizabeth Farriss
Tammy Felicijan
Greg Fortune
David French
Melissa Graham
Logan Greene
Heather Harmon
Kerwin Harmon
Shantell Jackson
Donald Johnson
Samuel Ligon
Daniel Love
Stewart Maxson
Claudia McCoy
Aurelia Murguia
Peter Porter
Michael Ray
Angela Schwendiman
Nathan Shearer
Julia Smith
Patricia Spanjer
Sandi Storie
Samantha Stragier
Raymond Stuart
CJ Tyler-Watson
Brenda Wallace
Jeffrey Wieck

10 Years  
Kerryn Bell
Reagan Henderson
Brenda Howe
Frederick Joslin
Jodi Kerbs
Shantay Legans
Vernon Loke
Michele Millet
Jabulani Nyathi
Natalia Ruiz-Rubio
James Scott
Debra Stafford
Wes Steiner
Ann Wetmore

5 Years
Matthew Anderson
Cindy Arlt
Ralph Arnett
Heechang Bae
Nichol Baker
Kathryn Baldwin
Diane Ball
Justin Bastow
Virginia Baxter
Chad Bodnar
Roy Caligan
Alexandra Cassano
Norma Chavez
Stacey Chay
Annette Clark
Heidi Connole
Mary Cullinan
Bryce Currie
Tascha Dempsey
Tiffany Dixon
Lei Dong
Marcella Estrellado
Scott Eubanks
Yabing Fisher
Stephan Friel
Julia Furlong
Laura Gant
Clive Gary
Riley Gulley
Nichole Harris
Diana Hartman
Matt Howard
Courtney Jensen
Jan-Olov Johansson
Rose Krause
Ashley Lamm
Brenden Leinweber
Heather Lieseke
Tawnia Littell
Yanxin Liu
Krisztian Magori
Heidi Mansfield
Melody Marlow
Nathan Marney
William Martin
Luis Matos
Brianna McCallum
Qing Meade
Araceli Medina
Matthew Michaelis
Alexandra Mikkelbor
Lucy Montecalvo
David Morton
Sarah Mount
Gustave Nollmeyer
Jane Noonan
Heather Page
Jennifer Pfeifer
Tiffany Picotte
Robert Potter
Seshu Rao
Adrian Reyes
Kyle Riggs
David Riley
Alyson Rode
Uri Rogers
Brent Seeberger
Lauren Sitton
Olga Slyusareva
Roy Sonnema
Christopher Sorensen
D’Lisa Souder
Paul Spruell
Ashley Stettler
Jill Stinson
Diana Stuart
David Syphers
Jennifer Thomas
Deanna Trella
Ryan Weikleenget
Rahel Wondimu
Spenser Ybarra

Have Feedback?

We strive to make this website the best it can be. If you have questions or comments about this website, we welcome your input. Let us know what you think.