Two of the teachers in RAMP-A, Mike Conklin and Scott Cooley, were awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

RAMP-A Peer Teacher, Scott Cooley receiving the Presidential Award.

Many people were involved in designing and leading RAMP-A including faculty from Eastern Washington University Department of Mathematics, Washington State University College of Education, Northeast Washington Education Service District 101, and Peer Teachers from partner school districts.

PI: Jackie Coomes, Professor, EWU


Co-PI: Hyung Sook Lee, Associate Professor, EWU

Co-PI: Janet Frost, former Associate Director of Health Sciences, STEM Education and Research Program, WSU-Spokane

Janet 2

Co-PI: Kristine Lindeblad, faculty, WSU- Spokane

(no picture available)

Ron Gentle, Professor, EWU Department of Mathematics

Erik Wolfrum and Debra Kowalkowski from NEWESD101


Scott Cooley, Mathematics Teacher, University High School

Profile picture for Scott Cooley

Brandon Mack, Mathematics Teacher, Central Valley High School

Profile picture for Brandon Mack

Matt Green, Teacher, Riverpoint Academy

Matthew Green

Cheryl Matern, former Mathematics Specialist, Olympia School District


The teachers and administrators in our project contributed greatly to each others’ and to the leaders’ learning. Our school district partners included:

Central Valley School District

Cheney School District

East Valley School District

Gonzaga Preparatory School

Mead School District

Republic School District

Spokane Public Schools

West Valley School District